bicycle-Santa-03

Have you SEEN the calendar lately? It’s December already! This can only mean one thing. Christmas shopping. Being that you’re reading our Brantford Cyclepath shop blog at this moment, you yourself must be a cyclist. In that light, this particular blog that I’m writing can be used in two ways. You can use it to consider gifts for the cyclists on your list, OR you can “share” it in a strategic manner so that the non cyclists in you life will have some ideas towards gifts for YOU.

Come to think of it, how would it be if I subtitled this particular piece The Twelve Gifts Of Christmas? 

Here is a list of twelve gift suggestions, in no particular order, that seem to be tried and true customer favorites year after year. Feel free to sing it if you want. You all know the tune.

On the FIRST day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A CYCLE COMPUTER. Let’s face it. In this day and age, people like data. These little devices turn empty mileage into meaningful mileage by keeping track of things such as time, speed, and distance ridden. Casual cyclists LOVE these things! From $39.95

On the SECOND day of Christmas my true love gave to me… LIGHTS. Headlights and taillights. You’ve all been out driving at night and been startled by someone on a bike with no lighting. Please keep your loved ones safe and buy them lights. The new ones are REALLY bright and they come with the batteries already in the box. From $19.95

On the THIRD day of Christmas my true love gave to me… INNER TUBES. Interesting fact: flat tires happen! There isn’t a cyclist alive that wouldn’t appreciate a spare tube when they needed it. From $6.95

inner tube

On the FOURTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A TOOL BAG. These are those handy little bags that attach to the underside of your bike seat. Carry a spare tube, tools, money, energy food and keys. From $22.95

On the FIFTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… AN INDOOR TRAINER. These are stands that are used to allow you to ride your bike indoors in the winter time. Great for rainy spells too. There are several types based on what kind of exercise you intend to do. If you come in we can fill you in on the details. From $179.95

On the SIXTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A NEW HELMET. We sweat when we ride. Helmets get smelly. Helmets are also affected by the sun. They lose their effectiveness after about three years. Just like the lights, keep those loved ones safe. From $59.95

evanston-kids-bike-race

On the SEVENTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… CYCLING GLOVES. Oh boy, is THIS always a popular item! Like I said, in no particular order. The ones with gel in them are extra comfy. From $19.99

On the EIGHTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A NEW SADDLE. The fact is, bike seats wear out over time. The padding breaks down and makes us grumpy. You and I know that you have to be able to sit down to ride a bike enjoyably. We have all kinds of them. From $20.99

On the NINTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… TOOLS. Another amazing fact. Tools wear out if you use them. They need to be ready when you need them. We have tools that you can take with you and tools for the home workshop. All riders need fresh tools. From $9.95

park kit

On the TENTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A FLOOR PUMP. Thank God for floor pumps. If you use one of these before you leave the house, then it’s less likely that something will puncture your tires while out in the middle of nowhere. You can blow up soccer balls and inflatable beach toys with it too! From $39.95

On the ELEVENTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A BIKE FITTING. Now this is REALLY cool. I’d like you to google Specialized Body Geometry Fit. See all of that? We happen to have a certified BG fitter on staff. He makes sure that bike and rider work together as one efficient unit. It’s the cycling equivalent of a day at the spa.  Press HERE for details.

On the TWELFTH day of Christmas my true love gave to me… A NEW BIKE! You don’t even hesitate when asked “have you been a good boy or girl this year?” It’s an emphatic YES!!! Man, I wish I could be like you. Congratulations on attaining this level of awesomeness. You rock!

whacked out bike

Added BONUS! Here’s my own personal favorite suggestion for a simple but fantastic stocking stuffer. Buy a clear plastic cycling water bottle. Every cyclist can use a fresh one. Fill it with the recipients favorite goody. Peanuts or cashews, holiday candies or Smarties. Add a fancy ribbon around the neck and you’re set. Looks festive and is useful too!